Cloud Station Drive

Cloud station drive Help

Cloud Station Drive is a file sharing service that allows you to synchronize files between centralized Synology products and several client computers, cellphones and Synology products. To synchronize your data between Synology products and your computer, Synology products must be selected as host servers, and other paired computers will act as client devices. 

Before synchronizing files with your client computer, the Cloud Station Server package must be installed on the Synology host product, while the client application (Drive Cloud Station for client computers, available at the Synology Download Center) must be installed on each client computer that you have. want to synchronize with. 

To install and manage the Cloud Station Server on your Synology product, log in as an admin (or user who belongs to the administrator group), open Package Center to install the Cloud Station Server, then click the Help button in the upper right corner for information.

Configure Sync Services with the Cloud Station Drive

Download and install the Cloud Station application from the Synology Download Center and then follow the instructions in this section to configure the synchronization service provided by the Cloud Station. To set up the Cloud Station Drive: On your Windows computer, open Start> All Programs> Synology Cloud Station Drive to launch the setup wizard. On your Mac, open Search> Applications> Synology Cloud Station Drive to launch the wizard. 

On your Linux computer, go to Dash> Applications> Internet> Drive the Synology Cloud Station to launch the wizard. Click Next to continue. Do the following to configure the Synology product that you want to synchronize, then click Next: Enter your IP address or QuickConnect ID, username and password for your Synology product. 

For domain users, use your domain name \ username to enter. You can also enter with IPv6. If you cannot connect to a Synology product, click the Proxy button to open the proxy settings window. Fill in your settings and connect back to the Synology product. You can also click the search icon on the right, and the Cloud Station Drive will automatically search for other Synology products on your LAN. 

Select the local and remote folder that you want to synchronize. If you want to adjust the synchronization settings further, please click Advanced. You can specify folders and files that you don't want to sync in Folders and File Filters: Maximum file size: If the file is larger than the size you specify, it won't be supported. File name: Any file with the designated file name will not be backed up. File extension: Each designated file extension will not be backed up. Add *. 

Extensions to tables, e.g. * .iso. You can also synchronize modes to two-way synchronization or only to download data from the Cloud Station Server. Uncheck Enable advanced consistency checks to reduce system time and resources needed in file comparisons. This decreases the accuracy of file comparisons. Click Apply to save your settings. 

Click Next and Finish to complete the settings. For find your QuickConnect ID, log in to DSM as an admin (or user who belongs to the administrator group), then open Control Panel> QuickConnect to check information. If you cannot connect to a Synology product or authorize a connection with your user credentials, check your network settings, and make sure your access to the Cloud Station is activated by your DSM administrator (in Control Panel> Privileges> Cloud Station Server). 

If you have read only permission for remote shared folders, you can only configure download-only tasks, which means that any changes that you make in the local folder will not be synchronized to the Cloud Station Server. Only accounts with read / write rights to remote folders can configure two-way synchronization.

Cloud Station Drive DS119J

Antivirus Essential
Free Driver
Drive
Free Driver
Cloud Station Server
Free Driver

In other words, you can only set the synchronization direction to download if the login account does not have permission to write to the remote folder. You can set the maximum file size as a number between 0 ~ 10,2400 MB, with 0 meaning unlimited. 

Enabling advanced consistency checks ensures accuracy of synchronization, where Cloud Station Drive compares additional criteria such as hashes, execution bits, and file permissions in various scenarios where merging is required. This requires more time and resources to complete the synchronization task.

To Add a New Sync Task to the Cloud Station Drive

Click create, select NAS where you want to create a new task and click Next. Select the local folder and remote shared folder that you want to synchronize, and apply the Advanced settings where needed. Click Next to complete the settings. 

Synchronized folders or folders that are ancestors or child folders to synchronized folders cannot be selected. The following file types and drive types are not supported in Drive Cloud Station: Windows disk drives, Windows shortcuts, Mac aliases, Windows symbolic links, Hidden files, Windows folders with this attribute: OFFLINE, REPARSE_POINT, SYSTEM, TEMPORARY, To add new connections with other Synology products: Click Create. 

Select another Synology product, then enter your login information. Click Next. Select the local folder and remote shared folder that you want to synchronize. If you want to change the synchronization settings, click Sync rules. Click Next to complete the settings. To disconnect the link: Select the connection that you want to modify and click the drop-down menu to the right of the server name. Click Disconnect link.

Cloud Station Drive and Manage Synchronization Tasks

You can manage synchronization tasks with the button located at the top of the main page. To manage your synchronization tasks: Click to highlight the synchronization task that you want to manage Click Pause, Continue, or Delete to pause, resume, or delete the task. In your synchronization folder, you can also right-click any subfolder to stop or resume synchronization. 

After deleting a task, full resynchronization may be needed if you want to link again. When you set up a new connection, Drive Cloud Station will automatically compare existing files and only upload / download changes that have been made. To change your sync rules: Select the synchronization tasks that you want to manage and click Sync rules. 

You can reset the selective synchronization rules of the selected task in the Folders and Files tab. You can reset the synchronization direction of the selected task and change the advanced consistency check settings on the Synchronization mode tab. You can only set the direction when synchronizing to download if the login account does not have permission to write to the remote folder.

Sync and Manage Files with the Cloud Station Drive

After the Cloud Station Drive is set up on all your computers, you can start synchronizing files with Synology products and other computers. To access your file, do one of the following: Click the link under your synchronization task to open in the Drive Station Cloud folder on your computer and then select the file or folder that you want to access. 

In the Cloud Station Drive tray menu, you can click on the folder icon in the upper right corner to access the Cloud Station Drive folder. Enter DSM with your DSM user credentials, open File Station, and then browse to the home> CloudStation> Drive (or home> CloudStation for users who update from the previous Cloud Station version) to access your personal files. 

If you synchronize files in a shared folder, files can be directly accessed from the same shared folder in the File Station. To synchronize your files, do one of the following: Insert your file into the Cloud Station folder on your computer to start file synchronization. 

When file alignment is in progress, a blue symbol will appear on the application icon in your computer's system tray, which will be replaced with the green one after the synchronization process is complete. 

If you pause synchronization, a gray symbol will appear. Right-click on any file on your PC to copy it to your Cloud Station Drive sync folder. If you want to pause or resume the synchronization process, click the application icon in your computer's system tray, then select Pause or Continue. 

Icon Overlay icon appears in the lower left corner of a file or folder in your Cloud Station folder, which shows its status. You can uncheck Show icon overlays for status files in Global settings with cloud station drives.

Discussion: