Cloud Station Server


Cloud Station Server

The Cloud Station Server is a file sharing service that allows you to synchronize centralized NAS Synology files and several client computers, cellular devices, and Synology NAS devices. To synchronize your data seamlessly between these devices, a Synology NAS must be selected as the host server, and the remaining paired computers, cellphones, and Synology NAS devices will act as client devices. 

Before synchronizing files with a client device, the Cloud Station Server package must be installed on the host server, while the client utility must be installed on each client device that you want to synchronize. The client application must be installed on the client computer before synchronizing files between Synology NAS and your local computer. 

To synchronize files, open the Synology Download Center and download the Drive Station Cloud utility. For real-time backup, open the Synology Download Center and download the Cloud Station Backup utility. Cloud Station ShareSync (available on Package Center) must be installed on every Synology NAS device that you want to attach to synchronize files between this Synology NAS host and other Synology NAS client devices. 

This package can be installed on one or several Synology client NAS devices according to your needs. Synology DS cloud application is needed to synchronize files between Synology NAS and your mobile device. DS cloud can be downloaded for free on the iOS App Store and Android Play Store.

Activate the Cloud Station Server

After Cloud Station Server is activated, (and if you have activated the QuickConnect service), you can see your QuickConnect ID on the overview page. Client computers, Synology NAS devices, and mobile devices can use this information to make connections. 

QuickConnect is a testing and connectivity relay service that can help you easily set up a Cloud Station Server on your client devices without configuring forwarding port rules for your Synology NAS. For detailed instructions, open Control Panel> QuickConnect, then click the Help button in the upper right corner. 

For better synchronization performance, it is recommended that you enable port forwarding on TCP 6690 ports for your router and Synology NAS. For more information, open the Control Panel> External Access> Router Configuration, and then click the Help button in the upper right corner. To deactivate the Cloud Station Server, open Center Package> Installed and click Stop in the Actions drop-down menu.

Manage Privileges for Users of Cloud Station Servers

You can specify which users can access Cloud Station Server services. Users who are allowed to have the following privileges: Synchronize files with your Synology NAS Launch the Cloud Station Server from the Main Menu DSM Cloud Station Server is enabled by default for all users. To allow access to DSM users to the Cloud Station Server: Go to Control Panel> Privileges and select Cloud Station Server. 

Click Edit. Open the Users or Groups tab to allow users and groups to access Cloud Station services. Specify IP settings if needed. Open the default privileges tab to determine whether new users will automatically be given access to use the Cloud Station service. You can manage detailed synchronization behavior and privileges for individual users through the User Sync Profile on the Cloud Station Server. 

Only users with administrative rights can manage user rights. If home services have been activated, the Cloud Station Server service will create a folder called CloudStation in the user's home folder (home / CloudStation), which allows each user to have personal synchronization and backup folders (home / CloudStation / Drive and home / CloudStation / Backup). 

When the admin prevents certain users from accessing their own home folder through ACL settings, the Cloud Station runs any synchronization work. To activate a user's home service, open Control Panel> User> Advanced, and check the box next to Enable user home services.

Manage the Cloud Station Server Client Connection

Click Register Client to see a list of client computers that have been set up to synchronize files with your Synology NAS using the Cloud Station Server service. You can see the name of the client computer, the name of the device used for service authorization, IP address, synchronization status, and the time to start file synchronization between Synology NAS and the client. 

To manage client connections, do one of the following: Click Refresh to update the list. Select the client in the list, then click Cancel Link to stop the client connection. Non-connected clients will need to reconfigure the connection to the Cloud Station Server before they can synchronize it back to your Synology NAS. Users with non-administrators can manage their own connections on this tab too.

Manage the Cloud Station File Server with the File Station

Cloud Station files are stored in your home / CloudStation folder or shared folders that have Cloud Station Sharing. You can browse and download Cloud Station files (or earlier versions) with File Stations or view historic versions. 

To manage Cloud Station files: Go to File Station, and then browse to home / CloudStation or a shared folder. Right-click the file and then select Browse previous version. Here you can see and download the previous file version. Only users with administrative rights can only manage Cloud Station Files from a shared folder. Other users can only search for file versions that have privileges.

Manage Cloud Station Files with Version Explorer

You can use Version Explorer to view and manage previous versions of files that were changed or deleted in your sync folder. Version Explorer allows you to view your data history on the timeline, allowing you to return it to a point in time altogether. To manage Cloud Station historical files: In the Overview, click Version Explorer to launch the Version Explorer. 

You can browse data at various historical points by dragging and focusing the timeline to the desired time point. You can also use the calendar to jump quickly to a certain date. Select the file or folder, and click one of the following buttons: Copy to ...: Restore this file or folder to the time specified on the timeline, and copy the results to the selected folder. Download: Download this file or folder. 

Restore: Restore this file or folder to the time specified on the timeline. You can do more by clicking Actions and selecting one of the following from the drop-down menu: Show deleted files: make deleted files visible in Version Explorer. Hide deleted files: hide deleted files from Version Explorer. Explore previous versions: View, download, or restore previous versions of this selected file. 

Permanently delete: Delete this file from version history. Note that the file will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. To delete all deleted files: To delete all deleted files and previous versions, click Actions> Delete database version. Please note you will not be able to recover permanently deleted files. Please continue carefully.

Cloud Station Log Server

The log allows you to track what actions the user has taken in a certain period of time. You can view the log as a whole with all events or you can see events related to different folders, which can be selected from the drop down menu at the top. 

To browse logs with a specific filter: Click the arrow in the search bar in the upper right corner. In the drop-down menu, you can filter events by: Keywords: enter the name of each user to find events related to the user. Date Range: choose from Today, Yesterday, Last Sunday, or Last Month or Customization to enter start and end dates to find logs within a certain range. 

Type: in the drop-down menu you can choose the type of event you want to see. You can also choose Customization to select several types of events at once. To reset your filtered log, click the Reset button and search again. File and Folder Names are hyperlinks if the file or folder is still in the Cloud Station Server database. Click to find it in the File Station. You can also double-click the log entry to open the version history of one file in Cloud Station Server.

Discussion: