Admin Console


Admin Console

The Drive Admin Console is a package that is installed automatically along with installing the Drive. It is designed to centralize synchronization settings for administrators to better monitor business property and stored / shared resources in Drive, a service that allows you to synchronize centralized NAS Synology files and several client computers, cellphones and other Synology NAS devices.

To synchronize data between different user devices, Synology NAS must be selected as a host server, and the remaining paired computers, cellphones, and Synology NAS devices will act as clients. Before synchronizing files with a client device, the drive must be installed on the host server, while the desktop application must be installed on each client device that you want to synchronize.

Only users in the DSM administrator group can view the Admin Console Drive. The desktop application must be installed on the client computer before synchronizing files between Synology NAS and your local computer.

To synchronize files, open the Synology Download Center and download the Drive desktop application. The Synology Drive mobile application must be installed in order to be able to browse files on the Drive server with your mobile device. The Drive application (iOS / Android) can be downloaded for free from the iOS App Store and Android Play Store.

Managing the Admin Console Client Connection

The client list allows you to see a list of client devices that have been prepared to synchronize files with your Synology NAS using Drive services. You can see the name of the client computer, the name of the device used for service authorization, the IP address, and the synchronization status between Synology NAS and the client.

To manage client connections, do one of the following: Click Refresh to update the list. Select the client in the list, then click Cancel Link to stop the client connection. Non-connected clients will need to reconfigure the connection to the Drive Admin Console before they can synchronize back to Synology NAS.

Users with non-administrators can manage their own connections on this tab too. Managing the Admin Drive Console File with the File Station Drive is stored in your home / Drive folder or the Team Folder have Drive sharing. You can browse and download Drive files (or earlier versions) with File Stations or view historical versions.

To manage Drive files: Go to File Station, and then browse to the home / Drive or shared folder. Right-click on the file, then select Explore previous version. Here you can see and download the previous file version. Only users with administrative rights can only manage Drive files in a shared folder. Other users can only search for file versions that have privileges.

Manage Files in Drive with Version Explorer with the Admin Console

The Explorer version allows administrators to view and manage previous versions of modified or deleted files in synchronized folders. Administrators can view data history by selecting a specific date and time, allowing you to restore data to a point in time altogether.

To manage the historical version of all files in Drive: Version Explorer in the Drive Admin Console allows administrators to track back to previous versions of files and folders under the user's Drive and Team Folder on Drive. In the Overview, click Version Explorer to launch the Version Explorer.

You can browse files from different Drive My folders or User Team Folders at different historical points by selecting a specific date and time. Click the username right after the View role to switch the display identity. Check the Show deleted files check box to make the deleted file visible in Version Explorer.

Select the file or folder, and click one of the following buttons: Download: Download this file or folder. Restore: Restore this file or folder to the specified time. Explore previous versions: View, download, or restore previous versions of this selected file or folder.

You can do more by clicking More and choosing one of the following from the drop-down menu: Copy to ...: Restore files or this folder to the specified time, and copy the results to the selected folder. Permanently delete: Delete this file from version history. Please note that the file will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered in Admin Console.

When encrypted Office files are selected, passwords are needed before any file manipulation. When copying Office files to destinations that are not closed Drive or download Office files, the file will automatically be converted to the Microsoft Office file format that is suitable for access availability.

To delete all deleted files: To delete all deleted files and previous versions, click Actions> Delete database version. Please note you will not be able to recover permanently deleted files. Please continue carefully.

Log Admin Console

The log allows you to track what actions the user has taken in a certain period of time. You can view the log as a whole with all events or you can see events related to different folders, which can be selected from the drop down menu at the top. To browse logs with a specific filter: Click the arrow in the search bar in the upper right corner.

In the drop-down menu, you can filter events by: Keywords: enter the name of each user to find events related to the user. Date Range: choose from Today, Yesterday, Last Sunday, or Last Month or Customization to enter start and end dates to find logs within a certain range. Type: in the drop-down menu you can choose the type of event you want to see.

You can also choose Customization to select several types of events at once. To reset your filtered log, click the Reset button and then search again. File and folder names are hyperlinks if the file or folder is still in the database Drive Admin Console. Click to find it in the File Station. You can also double-click on the activity entry to open a one-file version history with the Admin Console.

Discussion: