Group & Policy


Group & Policy

Group & Policy to simplify management and apply uniform settings to all Synology NAS servers, you can manage managed servers into groups of servers and apply policies to each server or group of servers. Pages on CMS> Group & Policy display the current policy hierarchy, server group, and managed server.

Policy is a list of rules, where each rule is the specified setting preference, such as Enable Windows File Services or Activate SSH services. When a policy is applied to a server server or managed server group, the preferences specified by the policy rule are applied to the server or group server in Group & Policy. 

This makes it possible to apply uniform settings to multiple servers without having to enter each server separately. To create a new policy: Click Create> Policy Enter a name and specify the policy rule. To activate the policy and make it apply, open the General tab and check the Activate this policy box.

Group & Policy Priority

When multiple policies are applied to a server or group of servers that are managed, it may want to adjust the priority of the policy to ensure the correct policies apply. To do this, select the server or server group that is managed and click Edit. 

On the Policy tab, you can adjust policy priority using the Up and Down buttons. Group servers allow managing and implementing policies to multiple servers simultaneously. The All Server parent group exists by default. 

New server groups can be created on All Servers, allowing various policies to be applied to various managed group servers. To create a new server group: Select the All Servers group. Click Create> Server group. After the server group is created, drag and drop the managed server to add it to the server group.

Server Group & Policy Priorities

When the child server or server group policy conflicts with the parent server group policy, the child server or group server policy is a priority. Block inheritance policy: If you don't want the parent server group policy to be applied to the child server or server group, you can choose the child server or server group, click Edit> Policy, and check the Retention package policy box. 

This option ignores the parent server group policy. There are no replacements: If you don't want the master server group policy to be ignored, you can open the Edit window for the parent server group, open Policy, and check the Not overwrite box. This option forces the child server or server group to implement the parent policy.

Delegation Management Permit Group & Policy

Permissions for server or server group management can be delegated to users or groups. When a user opens a CMS, he can see and modify server settings where he has delegated management permissions (such as settings on the Server, Notifications, Logs, and Groups & Policies). To delegate management permissions: Select a managed server or server group and click Edit. 

Open the Administrator tab and add the user or group to who wants to delegate management permission. Users included in the administrator group can view and change the settings of all managed servers. Users who are not members of the administrator group can only view and change managed server settings whose management permits are delegated by the Group & Policy.

Discussion: